The Museum in Le Faouët


In the middle of the 19th century, many were the artists who were attracted to the charm of the centre of Brittany. As with all buildings of great architectural quality, the chapels of Sante-Barbe and Saint Fiacre and the covered marketplace in Le Faouët, les Halles, represent a great source of inspiration for artists. The landscapes, the scenes of everyday life, particularly the markets, pervade the minds of painters who never cease to rework them on canvas, each with their own style and particular sensitivity.

In July 1914, the local authority inaugurated the core collection of paintings which was exhibited at the Town Hall at the time. Initially the foundation was set up by Victor Robic ( 1875-1941) who was an MP, mayor and councillor in Morbihan. As time passed, the collection grew and in 1985, the local authority seized the opportunity to acquire the former Ursuline convent in the town centre which had just become available on the market. The museum was then moved to the convent.  At present, the museum proudly boasts over 350 works which are on view during temporary exhibitions. The exhibits reflect the wealth of local heritage, which we are fortunate enough to have inherited.

The museum also shows a rolling exhibition in a room which is given over to his work, an entire collection of the paintings and drawings of Jean-Georges Cornelius (1880-1963), a visionary artist, deeply influenced by the symbolist movement and who was a pupil of Gustave Moreau.

The marvellous story of the museum in Le Faouët does not end there, in  2012 the museum was awarded the title of Musée de France, a status conferred on it by the Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, thus broadening its reputation.

Every year, added to the attraction of the annual great exhibition, there is a whole programme of guided visits, quick tours, conferences and showcase events for young people. The museum also takes part in La Nuit Européenne des Musées,  a night of nocturnal visits which take place all over France, as well as in the European Heritage Days, Les Journées  Européenes du Patrimoine.

Contact :
Musée du Faouët
1 rue de Quimper  
56320 Le Faouët
Phone: 02 97 23 15 27